Exploring Black and White Photography

I had the opportunity to visit the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, today and snap some pictures of a couple of the exhibits. Once I took the pictures, I decided I would try something new and mess around with using black and white. Here is a small gallery of my favorite images. I am excited and personally love the way they turned out!

Because I was not allowed to use flash, and I didn’t haul a tripod on my day trip (I regretted that decision the second I stepped into the first dimly-lit exhibit), I had to experiment with different shutter speeds, the aperture, and ISO values.

I decided I loved the dramatic appeal of the black and white images. Plus, using no color embodies the spirit of one of my favorite quotes from Leonardo Da Vinci:

“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.”

Take a look!

Click on any of the following images to enlarge:

 

Exploring Black and White Photography

Leave a comment